Celebrating 75 Years

We are pleased to share with you a replay of the online broadcast of the Middle East Institute’s 75th Anniversary Celebration and Awards Ceremony, marking the culmination of an historic year.

The ceremony featured addresses from Acting Assistant Secretary of State Yael Lempert and H.E. Dr. Anwar Gargash, Diplomatic Advisor to the President of the UAE. MEI also honored Afghan women's rights advocate Fawzia Koofi and Lebanese philanthropic organization, LIFE.

Thank you to everyone who joined us to celebrate this year's honorees and MEI's landmark year, and for supporting the Institute's mission throughout 2021 and beyond.

Featured Speakers


2021 Awardees


Master of Ceremonies

Vivian Salama

Vivian Salama

Salama reports on national security for the Wall Street Journal. She has covered U.S. foreign policy and national security for nearly two decades, reporting from more than 70 countries.

About the Awards

The Issam M. Fares Award for Excellence, endowed by the former deputy prime minister of Lebanon, was created to honor inspirational, innovative Middle Eastern individuals who are making a difference in their communities and internationally. The Middle East Institute Visionary Award recognizes an individual or organization for outstanding work in the region.

View past recipients


We wish to express our gratitude for the generous commitments in 2021


75th Anniversary Circle

Marjorie A. Adams and Allan C. Muns
Richard A. Clarke
Crow Holdings
Embassy of the United Arab Emirates
Anne B. Keiser
Saudi Aramco
Smith Richardson Foundation


Acuity International
The Electrum Group
Embassy of Bahrain
Exxon Mobil Corporation
William Feldman
Foundation for Middle East Peace
Goldman Sachs
GPD Charitable Trust
Brian C. McK. Henderson

Hillwood Development Company
Louis R. Hughes
Morgan Stanley
Owl Cyber Defense
Princeton University
Paladin Capital
Perenchio Family Fund
Royal Embassy of Saudi Arabia


DLA Piper
Deborah Lehr
Dentons US LLP
Embassy of the Sultanate of Oman
Samia and Abul Huda Farouki
Ford Foundation
M. Shafik Gabr

HawkEye 360
Hunter Hunt
Nancy Ann and Ray Hunt Community Foundation
Rula Jebreal
James Quigley
Squire Patton Boggs
US-UAE Business Council


Susan B. Bastress, Esq.
The Brock Pierce Foundation
Richard Debs
Anna Eliasson Schamis
Joseph and Sandra Englehardt

Evan Fotos Trust
George and Rhonda Salem 
Family Foundation
George Hoguet
Japan External Trade Organization
Amb. Robert Jordan


Mohammed Alhuraimel
Nicolas Bremer
Citizens for a Secure and Safe America
Richard Debs
The Ed and Susan Cutter Gift Fund
Jeffrey Feltman
Mohammed Ghbeis

John Heins
Jim and Diana Holman
Jan Mares
Papworth Foundation
Anne Patterson
Wolfgang Pordzik
Paul Pringle
Rockefeller Capital Partners

Austris Rungis
Ammanda Seelye Salzman
Betty Sams
Peter Tanous
Michael Thomas
Violet Jabara Foundation
William Webster
Gretchen and David Welch